Good news, everyone!

My sister and brother-in-law demanded that I stay with them until I get this mess sorted out. This was Thursday, judging from the godawful knots in my back from their couch. It’s a crowded apartment on the cheap side of town (ok, let’s be real; anything North of the University and a fair chunk of the South end is the cheap side of town) that has three bedrooms, my rambunctious Godsons, my baby Goddaughter, my sister and brother-in-law, and my sister’s friend from high school. She has the room that will eventually go to the baby, and in the mean time, her boyfriend stays with her every night and she gets her two kids every other Saturday.

IT’S A LITTLE CROWDED.

 I can’t do anything about the cramped quarters, but I bring in groceries when she needs them, help her with the kids, and do the dishes when she lets me (she’s kind of compulsive about them. I’ve seen her redo an entire rack because someone washed them in the wrong order.) In return, I eat supper with the family almost every night, drink too much coffee, smoke too many cigarettes, and sleep on the couch.

It’s nice; I’m at home when I’m there. We’ll watch “Wife Swap” and yell at the TV together, my brother-in-law and I will nerd about anime we’ve been watching, and I’ll read to the boys every night instead of just Fridays. Dozer’s getting good at it, and Demonic actually volunteered to read last night. I think a lot of his hesitation comes from nerves, particularly since he sits next to a kid who bullies him at school (snot-nosed brat!) and his older brother when he’s reading with me at home. I’m looking for simple stuff that would interest my space-obsessed younger Godson that we could work on one-on-one. Any suggestions??

At any rate, even though it’s a fairly high-stress situation (you try studying in a cramped apartment with three kids and the TV on after having too much coffee.) it’s infinitely superior to the one I’m leaving. I get up early with the boys, leave for school, and come home for supper, which I eat at an honest-to-God table instead of at a desk or while I’m walking to the library.

It’s temporary, which is probably best for my studies, but what time I am spending there is doing wonders for the rest of my life.

After all, there’s no place like home.

5 thoughts on “Good news, everyone!

  1. Every time I go to my parents house (to do laundry or babysit or be fed a legitimate meal with vegetables) I bring along my backpack with a whole gang of books and notes and my laptop. I do this whole “YEAH! WITHOUT MY ROOMMATES TO DISTRACT ME I AM TOTALLY GOING TO DO HOMEWORK!” attitude. This generally gets pummeled by the desire to coax a story out of my shy-guy middle nephew or teach words to the youngest or listen to the oldest read way above his level. The house echoes like nobodies business and the dog is a bit on the mouthy side.

    I feel your pain. I wish you luck in your studies, and in the health of your back. It looks like you need a good massage! Or a bath with jets.

    Keep on keepin’ on,
    Kacie

  2. Thanks! 😀 On the plus side, since it’s snowing, the kids have been spending a lot of time out-of-doors with their dad, who’s home because nobody builds houses in a blizzard. I took them sledding in my laundry basket.

  3. Finch says:

    Wife Swap is definitely a show worth yelling at the TV about. Oh how I miss cable…

    As far as suggestions for books about outer space, I can’t think of any off the top of my head, but I’ll definitely keep an eye out. Outer space is awesome and there is bound to be stuff that he would like to read.

  4. This is really touching, and what great news. I’m glad you have family nearby that’s willing to give you support (and why wouldn’t you benefit from being closer to the young’ns?). As for activities to share with your Godson…can you get him into some anime too??? Like Gundam or Ryvius or Robotech or Escaflowne or something? Or is that too fictive? Is he really into…ACTUAL outer space? Because when it comes to anything smart, I’m fairly useless.

    Also: FARNSWORTH.

    • He’s down to learn how stars burn and all that good stuff. And according to Howard Gardner, there are at least eight distinct areas of intelligence in which everyone is at least somewhat proficient. His theory is that everybody’s smart about something, and I’ve worked too many weird jobs and known too many weird people to believe otherwise.
      You write intelligently at the very least. 🙂

Leave a Reply

